Photoshop Contest PhotoshopContest.com
Creative Contests. Real Prizes. Essential Resource.
You are not logged in. Log in or Register

 


Photoshop Contest Forum Index - General Discussion - Google's new browser "Chrome" - Reply to topic

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

splodge

Location: Yorkshire,

Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:48 pm   Reply with quote         


good test page for testing chrome server speed, 120 animated smileys,
http://www.hallcross.co.uk/animated%20smileys/smileys.htm

rebuilding my site to be more compliant, clearing a load of crap out while i'm at it too,
http://www.hallcross.co.uk/homePage.html

any pointers, ideas?




_________________


Hallcross Toots
anfa

Location: Geordieland, UK

Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:00 pm   Reply with quote         


Jebus!!! It is fast innit! WOOHOO!!! Very Happy




Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:08 pm   Reply with quote         


splodge wrote:
rebuilding my site to be more compliant

Call an ambulance, Splodge is definitely sick! Shocked Wink




_________________
I used to do stuff around here
splodge

Location: Yorkshire,

Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:35 pm   Reply with quote         


dont worry about me grefix, i'll recover, in fact the Hallcross site looks better in chrome than it does in IE now, just found another fault though, if you use anchor points for navagating the anchor goes anout 30 pixels higher than it should in chrome, like the omnibox was an after thought,
http://www.bluetorials.com/free%20stuff/ps_tuts.html#GRASSYFIELDS




_________________


Hallcross Toots

Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:03 pm   Reply with quote         


try this:

<a name="GRASSYFIELDS" id="GRASSYFIELDS"></a><strong>GRASSY FIELDS</strong>

instead of:
<strong>GRASSY FIELDS<a name="GRASSYFIELDS" id="GRASSYFIELDS"></a></strong>

so anchor before text, should work




_________________
I used to do stuff around here
splodge

Location: Yorkshire,

Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:38 pm   Reply with quote         


thanks grefix, but i have over 200 anchor points and i'm not recoding all of them, still works in FF and IE so i'm sure it's a chrome issue




_________________


Hallcross Toots
dewdew

Location: Upstate South Kack-a-lack

Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:42 pm   Reply with quote         


I've had it for every bit of 3 minutes, and i already don't like it. Went into the WRENCH just to see what options are available. Moved cookies from ALLOW ALL to the restrict how 3rd parties can effect cookies setting. Found the bookmark for PSC and clicked on it. Went strait to the page, then just froze...waiting on TRIBAL FUSION?????....... Doh!.....not that again.

Found another flaw...TRY putting a smiley into something you have already typed....like if you forgot it. Puts it at the end???? and what is sad is...this is my first visit to any site. Now i'm scared to go to another.

On the other hand i may keep it....it has a spell checker, and worked great while typing this....THAT IS A BIG PLUS. So i may just let it stay with the COOKIE MONSTER settings enabled. Laughing




TutorMe
Site Moderator

Location: Sitting in this room playing Russian roulette, finger on the trigger to my dear Juliet.

Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:47 pm   Reply with quote         


splodge wrote:
thanks grefix, but i have over 200 anchor points and i'm not recoding all of them, still works in FF and IE so i'm sure it's a chrome issue

It does the same thing in safari. Sad




splodge

Location: Yorkshire,

Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:08 pm   Reply with quote         


yes, basicly it's safari, 3 faults i only ever noticed on my site in safari all showed up in chrome, but i'll stick with it, as my second server for now




_________________


Hallcross Toots
jerryhami

Location: home

Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:55 pm   Reply with quote         


Granulated wrote:
TofuTheGreat wrote:
Granulated wrote:
supak0ma wrote:
eheh tru, tru. already addicted to its speed.


I see no rendering speed improvement over Firefox 3.


I've seen a MAJOR difference in the rendering speed over FF3. Shocked

I should Camtasia the rendering in the two. Heck even in IE.



well i do have a rather shit-hot PC and 20Mbit broadband. Maybe it's making the difference unnoticeable.


I Still am sold so far on it. for Internet access I have a antenna on the roof of the Palace about 9 stories up that points at a extension router antenna about 400 meters away with a winlan cable that hooks up usb have to connect to it and then connect via VPN I have set up. Up until now the only way I could watch a youtube video was to download it took about 45min for a 4-5min video. I can now watch it straight off the site with just medium buffering.
Also I can now go big on everyones entry. before it just took to damn long.




splodge

Location: Yorkshire,

Post Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:25 pm   Reply with quote         


glad it's working out for you jerry, it even forced me to rebuild a few web sites that have needed updating for years Smile
if FF and IE dont get there fingers out they are going loose everything, no more FF v IE battles, just google doing all the bigbrother spying on us all, but i'm cool with that.
any one know how to set chrome as a test server in dreamweaver? i cant find the folder,
mind you testing everything in safari seems to do the trick Smile




_________________


Hallcross Toots

Post Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:47 am   Reply with quote         


splodge wrote:

mind you testing everything in safari seems to do the trick Smile

wonder if it has something to do with Chrome being based on safari Smile




_________________
I used to do stuff around here
bigbuck

Location: Australia

Post Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:22 am   Reply with quote         


I'd really like to see some security info on chrome. One of the main reasons I've used Opera for so long is that it is one of the most secure browsers around.




Post Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:29 am   Reply with quote         


the graphs are a bit irrelevant, eh Wink (being IE on version 7, and ff on 3)
(not arguing though)




_________________
I used to do stuff around here
bigbuck

Location: Australia

Post Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:32 am   Reply with quote         


Grefix wrote:
the graphs are a bit irrelevant, eh Wink (being IE on version 7, and ff on 3)
(not arguing though)
Yeah, that was an old screenshot I had. Just looked on Secunia. Opera is the same. FF3 has improved significantly. IE is still the same.
Still like to know how secure chrome is though.




Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Photoshop Contest Forum Index - General Discussion - Google's new browser "Chrome" - Reply to topic

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Navigate PSC
Contests open  completed  winners  prizes  events  rules  rss 
Galleries votes  authentic  skillful  funny  creative  theme  winners 
Interact register  log in/out  forum  chat  user lookup  contact 
Stats monthly leaders  hall of fame  record holders 
PSC advantage  news (rss)  faq  about  links  contact  home 
Help faq  search  new users  tutorials  contact  password 

Adobe, the Adobe logo, Adobe Photoshop, Creative Suite and Illustrator are registered trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated.
Text and images copyright 2000-2006 Photoshop Contest. All rights reserved.
A venture of ExpertRating.com