Photoshop Contest PhotoshopContest.com
Creative Contests. Real Prizes. Essential Resource.
You are not logged in. Log in or Register

Photoshop Contest Forum Index - Welcome Center - My Latest Frustration.....HELP! - Reply to topic

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:16 pm   Reply with quote         

How can this be, I made a gif which is 12 pictures, they are all 500 by 350 pixels, and are under 29 kb's. 29 times 12 is 348, and the gif thumbnail says it's 667 kb's.
I had a real good gif entry for the vulture contest and the same thing happened, and the only way it would fit (under 512 kb's) was to keep deleting photos until it looked like crap, and I don't want to enter garbage, so I didn't.
Please keep in mind that I'm still new at this, I don't even know how to use layers, when I make a chop or gif it's really being done the hard way, but I'm doing it.
With that in mind, any advise given is probably going to be like explaining time travel to Homer Simpson, but I'd still appreciate the help.

Post Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:25 pm   Reply with quote         

A good tutorial found in the tutorial section of PSC may help you with your gif problem...
http://photoshopcontest.com/tutorials/29/how-to-create-gif-animations.html

Other tutorials found in said section also may help you improve your skills.
http://photoshopcontest.com/tutorials/photoshop-tips.html

I'm afraid I can't be of much help personally, it's been years since I've made a gif for a contest.

good luck!
Wink

Martrex

Post Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:40 pm   Reply with quote         

remember you can make the gif itself smaller and use a white or colored background looking like a frame at the right size. Remember the amount of colors matters, dither%, and Lossy. Have you figured that a single static background image helps to keep it down as well.

So homer have a beer and I'll tell you a story about a poor mountaineer.........